Repetitive Flood Claims


To assist States, Indian tribal governments, and communities to reduce or eliminate the long-term risk of flood damage to structures insured under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) that have had one or more claims for flood damages through mitigation activities that are in the best interest of the National Flood Insurance Fund (NFIF). This grant program supports the Mitigate component of the Presidential Preparedness Directive 8 (PPD-8) in the following ways: by providing funding to states and communities that promotes Long-Term Vulnerability Reduction through various mitigation measures including elevating at-risk homes or removing structures from flood hazard areas. Overall, this program also supports Community Resilience by reducing the need for emergency services in flood-prone areas of the community.

General information about this opportunity
Last Known Status
Program Number
Federal Agency/Office
Federal Emergency Management Agency, Department of Homeland Security
Type(s) of Assistance Offered
B - Project Grants
Program Accomplishments
Not applicable.
The RFC program is authorized by Section 1323 of the National Flood Insurance Act (NFIA), 42 U.S.C. 4030, which was repealed by Pub. L. 112-141, div. F, title II, 100225(b) (July 6, 2012)
Who is eligible to apply/benefit from this assistance?
Applicant Eligibility
Entities eligible to apply for RFC grants include the emergency management agency (EMA) or a similar office of the 50 States, the District of Columbia, American Samoa, Guam, the U.S. Virgin Islands, Puerto Rico, the Northern Mariana Islands, and Federally recognized Indian Tribal governments. Each State, Territory, Commonwealth, or Federally recognized Indian Tribal government shall designate one agency to serve as the Applicant for each HMA program. Please see the HMA program guidance for more detailed information.
Beneficiary Eligibility
State agencies (other than the EMA), Indian Tribal governments (non-federally recognized) , and local governments and communities are eligible to apply as subapplicants for assistance under the RFC program. All interested subapplicants must apply to their State/Tribe/Territory Applicant. Subapplicants (and Applicants) may submit applications on behalf of homeowners and property owners. Please see the HMA program guidance for detailed information.
Please see the HMA Program Guidance. 2 CFR Part 200 , Subpart E - Cost Principles applies to this program for awards made on or after December 26, 2014, the date the Department of Homeland Security adopted these regulations.
What is the process for applying and being award this assistance?
Pre-Application Procedure
Preapplication coordination is required. An environmental impact statement is required for this listing. An environmental impact assessment is required for this listing. This program is eligible for coverage under E.O. 12372, "Intergovernmental Review of Federal Programs." An applicant should consult the office or official designated as the single point of contact in his or her State for more information on the process the State requires to be followed in applying for assistance, if the State has selected the program for review.
Application Procedure
2 CFR 200, Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards applies to this program. Applicable to the program for awards made on or after December 26, 2014. Contact the headquarters or regional office, as appropriate, for application deadlines.
Award Procedure
Applications are reviewed by DHS/FEMA program and administrative staff. Any issues or concerns noted in the application will be negotiated with the successful applicant prior to the award being issued.
Contact the headquarters or regional location, as appropriate for application deadlines
Approval/Disapproval Decision Time
Refer to HMA program guidance document.
Not applicable.
Not applicable.
How are proposals selected?
Refer to the HMA program guidance for information on criteria for selecting proposals.
How may assistance be used?
States, Indian tribal governments, local governments and communities may apply for RFC project grants for activities that reduce or eliminate the long - term risk of flood damage to structures, insured under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP), that have had one or more claims for flood damages. This may include the acquisition of insured structures for the purpose of converting flood-prone land to permanent open space use; elevation of existing structures; dry floodproofing; and minor localized flood reduction projects.
What are the requirements after being awarded this opportunity?
Performance Reports: Recipients are required to submit quarterly financial and performance reports. Quarterly Performance Reports must include the progress of each sub-grant award. Reports are due 30 days after the end of each quarter: January 30, April 30, July 30, and October 30. Final financial and performance reports are due 90 days after the expiration or termination of grant award. Please refer to HMA program guidance for more information.
These audits are due to the cognizant Federal agency, submitted through the Federal Audit Clearinghouse, not later than 9 months after the end of the grantee's fiscal year.
Under 2 CFR 200.333, grant records shall be retained for a period of 3 years from the day the recipient submits its final expenditure report. If any litigation, claim, negotiation, audit, or other action involving the records has been started before the expiration of the 3-year period, the records must be retained until completion of the action and resolution of all issues which arise from it, or until the end of the regular 3-year period, whichever is later. Grant records include financial and program/progress reports, support documents, statistical records, and other documents that support the activity and/or expenditure of the recipient or sub-recipient under the award.
Other Assistance Considerations
Formula and Matching Requirements
Statutory formula is not applicable to this assistance listing.

Matching is voluntary. Refer to HMA program guidance for additional information.

MOE requirements are not applicable to this assistance listing.
Length and Time Phasing of Assistance
Refer to program guidance. Awards are subject to the Cash Management Improvement Act for payment and/or reimbursement of expenditures. Refer to HMA program guidance.
Who do I contact about this opportunity?
Regional or Local Office
See Appendix IV of the Catalog for a listing of addresses of FEMA's Regional Offices.
Headquarters Office
Kayed Lakhia,
400 C St., SW
Washington, DC 20472 US
Phone: 2026463458
Website Address
Financial Information
Account Identification
(Project Grants) FY 18$0.00; FY 19 est $0.00; FY 20 est $0.00; -
Range and Average of Financial Assistance
Refer to Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) program guidance.
Regulations, Guidelines and Literature
Hazard Mitigation Assistance Unified grant program guidance, 2 CFR Part 200 (for awards made on or after December 26, 2014), the DHS FEMA Real Property Acquisition Regulations at 44 CFR Part 80, which is available to the public on the FEMA internet site.
Examples of Funded Projects
Not applicable.


Related Federal Grants

Federal Grants Resources