Mortgage Insurance Homes for Disaster Victims


To help victims of a Presidentially-declared disaster whose home was destroyed undertake homeownership on a sound basis.

General information about this opportunity
Last Known Status
Program Number
Federal Agency/Office
Office of Housing-Federal Housing Commissioner, Department of Housing and Urban Development
Type(s) of Assistance Offered
F - Guaranteed/Insured Loans; H - Sale, Exchange, or Donation of Property and Goods
Program Accomplishments
Not applicable.
National Housing Act, Title National Housing, Part II, Section 203(h)
Who is eligible to apply/benefit from this assistance?
Applicant Eligibility
Anyone whose home was destroyed or damaged to the extent that it needs to be rebuilt as a result of a Presidentially Decalared Major Disaster is eligible to apply.
Beneficiary Eligibility
Families or individuals that are victims of a major disaster as designated by the President.
Documentation regarding the characteristics of the property to be financed and the qualifications of the borrower are assembled by the HUD-approved lending institution and submitted with the application.
What is the process for applying and being award this assistance?
Pre-Application Procedure
Preapplication coordination is not applicable.
Application Procedure
2 CFR 200, Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for Federal Awards applies to this program. An FHA-approved lender submits the application for review and approval or disapproval through a HUD-Approved lending institution.
Award Procedure
Applications are submitted for review through a HUD approved lending institution.
Applications must be made within one year of the Major Disaster Declaration.
Approval/Disapproval Decision Time
Not applicable.
Not applicable.
Not applicable.
How are proposals selected?
Not applicable.
How may assistance be used?
HUD insures lenders against loss on mortgage loans. These loans may be used to finance the purchase or reconstruction of a one-family home that will be the principal residence of a borrower that is a victim of a Presidentially-declared disaster. The maximum insurable loan for such an occupant mortgagor is the same as prescribed for Section 203(b) (14.117). Disaster victims are not required to meet the 3.5 percent minimum investment requirements. In order to qualify for assistance, the formerly occupied home must have been in an area designated by the President as a disaster area, and it must have been destroyed or damaged to such an extent that reconstruction or replacement is necessary.
What are the requirements after being awarded this opportunity?
Not applicable.
Not applicable.
Lenders are required to service and maintain records in accordance with acceptable mortgage practices of prudent lending institutions and the HUD regulations.
Other Assistance Considerations
Formula and Matching Requirements
Statutory formula is not applicable to this assistance listing.

Matching requirements are not applicable to this assistance listing.

MOE requirements are not applicable to this assistance listing.
Length and Time Phasing of Assistance
This program goes in to effect when the President declares the disaster and remains in effect for one-year from the date of declaration. Method of awarding/releasing assistance: Lump.
Who do I contact about this opportunity?
Regional or Local Office
For additional information, individuals are encouraged to contact the FHA Resource Center by phone at 1-800-CALLFHA (1-800-225-5342), by email at or visit the FHA Resource Center site at
Headquarters Office
Kevin Stevens
451 7th Street, SW
Washington, DC 20410 US
Phone: (800) 225-5342
Website Address
Financial Information
Account Identification
(Sale, Exchange, or Donation of Property and Goods) FY 22 FY 23 FY 24 FY 21 FY 20 FY 19 FY 18 FY 17 FY 15 FY 16 - Reported Under 14.117 for all fiscal years.
Range and Average of Financial Assistance
Average mortgage amount is approximately $200,000. There is no minmum mortgage amount. The maximum mortgage amount varies by location is the same as the standard FHA (203(b)) mortgage amount. See 14.117
Regulations, Guidelines and Literature
Not applicable.
Examples of Funded Projects
Not applicable.


Related Federal Grants

Federal Grants Resources